bipolar, Mental Health, mental illness, Uncategorized

Blame it on Bipolar

Over dramatic. That is what I get called on a regular basis. I’m over dramatic when I get more emotional than other people.

Guess what?

That is what Bipolar is. I have stronger emotions than people without Bipolar disorder. In fact, check out the National Institute of Mental Health and it says, “People with bipolar disorder experience periods of unusually intense emotion”.

Sometimes having crazy strong emotions is so cool, being able to feel so much can be like a high. The ability to live in this state of black and white horror is something other people don’t get, it sets us apart from others.

But on the other hand, people who don’t feel those emotions, don’t understand those emotions. Which is how we get back to the over dramatic. I hate being called over dramatic or emotional or sensitive. Unfortunately, my emotions are usually so scattered when someone calls me one of those words that I end up crying or getting angry, thus proving their point.

So what do I do? Do I hide my emotions or try to act like I’m not “crazy”. Or do I let myself be me regardless of what people think.

Bipolar is such a big part of my life. I am who I am because of bipolar disorder. But people don’t know that. Most people don’t know that I have bipolar disorder. I contribute to the stigma of mental illness because I keep my disorder a secret. I am too ashamed of my mental illness to be open about it. The thing is, people treat you differently. They might try not to but it still happens. All of the sudden you can’t babysit their kids or volunteer at that school event. There is a fear that you will snap at any time.

I am such a high functioning bipolar that I’m not going to let it destroy my life yet. But here we are again encouraging this stigma that people with a mental disorder are treated differently.

Oh well. For now I will continue to allow people to think I am over dramatic and too sensitive instead of just blaming it on bipolar.

Standard

One thought on “Blame it on Bipolar

  1. I just wanted to say, don’t ever be ashamed. Don’t ever hide who you are. You are unique and wonderful.
    Just like me 🙂 just like all the Bipolar and other DSM V peeps out there.

    I wish I could tell you that with time people are less likely to say these things, but that would be a lie and I wish I could say it doesn’t bother me…but it does. The one that really gets me “oh your bipolar must be playing up!!!”

    I’ve been BPD I for 17 years, and I have achieved so much…you can too!

    Don’t ever forget this though…
    Be a person who has Bipolar, not a Bipolar person.
    Allow yourself to feel, not because you have Bipolar, but because you are first and foremost…a person.

    Thankyou for sharing your thoughts
    Your friendly Bipolar interwebs neighbour
    2SLNM

Leave a Reply

